Posted by: hdooley | September 12, 2009

Dooley Donuts

Over Labor day weekend we made homemade donuts!!!  I have fond memories of making these when I was a child with my mom and had never made them with my kids, so decided to give it a try!  I must say it was a huge mess but they were as tasty as I remembered them to be!  In case you want to give it a try here is the recipe:

First you must have a “fry daddy” (that is what ours is called anyway).  Pour lots of oil into it and bring it to a dangerously hot temperature…then let your children put their faces over it as they balance on stools.

IMG_4043

Purchase a can of biscuits (I personally prefer the butter/flakey kind).  Cut the middle out of the biscuit and drop the dough in the deep fryer.  You can use the middle portion of the biscuit to make donut holes.   Notice the chunks of butter in our biscuits….yummy!

IMG_4046

Flip donuts to cook the other side.  Then dump on a paper towel to soak up excess grease.  Let cool for a couple minutes.

IMG_4060

Next pour powdered sugar in one paper bag and cinnamon with regular sugar in another paper bag.  This is where the kids and the mess comes in.  Have the kids choose which topping they prefer for their donut and let them do the shaking.  Ada Grace is demonstrating….

IMG_4062

Take out the donut which will be heavily covered with sugar and enjoy with a big glass of milk.  Side note:  I prefer to put my sugar on a plate and lightly coat with the sugar topping….not so much the case with my children though.

IMG_4065

They are only good warm so make just enough for your family- which was only one can of biscuits for us.  Let me know if you make them and how they turn out!


Responses

  1. How can you go wrong with canned butter biscuits and powdered sugar? What wonderful childhood memories!

  2. Thanks for the little cooking show. Maybe your blog could change to “Cookin with the Dooleys”

  3. You might not believe it but we did eat some healthy things when you were growing up but they weren’t as good as these. Just be careful not to let anyone get burned….Yummy, Yummy


Leave a comment

Categories